Frequently Asked Questions
Can I download my transactions from Buxfer?
Transactions can be downloaded in various formats suitable for both data backups and importing into a different financial software. To download transactions, click on "Settings > Download transactions" or visit https://www.buxfer.com/download.
Buxfer provides the following download formats:
Buxfer can automatically back up all your transaction data to Dropbox or Google Drive every night. To use this feature, please upgrade to a PRO membership.
What is a "Transfer" and when should I use it?
A Transfer represents a transfer of money between two of your accounts, or between your account and an external account. Transfers are NOT counted as expenses or income, they only affect account balances and Net Worth.
Following are some examples when you might find it useful to use a Transfer:
For transfers involving external accounts, please use "NONE" as the account to represent the external account.
What is the difference between "Refund" and "Income"?
Transactions of type "Refund" are added to your total expenses, while transactions of type "Income" are added to your total income.
If you have an income of $100, and an expense of $50 => Your total expense is $50
If you have a refund of $25, and an expense of $50 => Your total expense is $25
Can I enter transactions in multiple currencies?
YES, absolutely! Buxfer is designed to work for anyone anywhere in the world.
A single financial account in Buxfer is tied to a specific currency. To add transactions in a different currency, first create a new account with the desired currency, and then add a transaction to that account.
By default, transactions in other currencies will be converted to your default currency. If you click on a specific account, transaction amounts will be displayed in the currency for that account. If the currency for an account differs from your default currency, you will see the currency symbol next to the amount.
Currency conversion rates are automatically updated daily based on the latest market rates.
When I delete a transaction, will it be permanently deleted?
Deleted transactions are available for 30 days in the "Trash" view, in case you want to restore them. After that, they will be permanently deleted.
Can I restore a transaction that was deleted?
Transactions can be restored within 30 days after they are deleted.
To restore a deleted transaction, please follow these steps:
Can I attach notes to a transaction?
Yes, you can attach notes to a transaction. To do so, please follow these steps:
How can I easily find transactions that do not have any tags?
To find untagged transactions, please follow these steps: